Orchestre Français des Jeunes

All created in less than twenty years, between 1872 and 1887, the works performed by the Orchestre Français des Jeunes and cellist Astrig Siranossian paint the portrait of a generation.

Taken from his ballet Callirhoé, premiered in Marseilles in 1888, Cécile Chaminade's Suite evokes Alcméon's love for the slave princess Callirhoé, who dreams only of freedom. A Prelude, followed by the "Pas des écharpes", a Scherzettino and a "Pas des cymbales" follow one another with an eloquence reminiscent of Saint-Saëns. Saint-Saëns's Cello Concerto (1875), whose three movements testify with supreme elegance to the author of The Swan's passion for the vocal warmth of the cello, whose medium register is given pride of place. Capping this programme, Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4 (1878), linked to the composer's meeting with the mysterious Nadejda von Meck, unfolds its secret programme in four movements (including an unforgettable Scherzo in pizzicati): the violence of the implacable fatum and the illusory attempts to free oneself from it through resignation, dreams or the melancholy cult of the past.

The Orchestre Français des Jeunes is settling in Burgundy-Franche-Comté. It will take up summer residence at the Saline Royale d'Arc-et-Senans and winter residence at the Opéra de Dijon. This first concert marks the start of a multi-year collaboration that will also focus on artistic and cultural education projects.


  • Music
  • Music
  • Classical music
  • Concert


Monday 04/12/2023 at 8pm

This provider also proposes